My Favorite Smoothie

Does anybody love starting a new year as much as I do? I had a wonderful little break and am very excited and optimistic about the year to come. I will be bringing some new things to the blog in this first month of 2012 and I would love to get your feedback on what you like or don’t like, want to see more of or less, things like that!

I know several people make resolutions and a majority of them involve either getting in shape, eating better, or just simply staying healthy in the new year. I wanted to share with you one of my favorite smoothie recipes, taken from Kimberly Snyder. If you haven’t heard of her or her book, The Beauty Detox, I highly suggest you read it if your resolution involves anything with health. Check out the recipe below.

I have been drinking this smoothie every morning for about 2 months and I absolutely love the way it makes me feel (super energetic), and the physical results I have seen on my skin (glowing and less breakouts). It is full of nutrients and works great for me when I am in a hurry and don’t have time to eat breakfast! But most importantly when I drink this smoothie my day starts right and my eating habits for the rest of the day are reflective of this smoothie.

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 cups of cold, filtered water
  • 6 cups chopped spinach
  • 5 cups organic romaine (you can mix up you greens – try using kale, chard, or arugula)
  • 1 stalk of celery
  • 1 organic apple, cored and chopped
  • 1-2 organic bananas
  • 1 organic pear, cored and chopped
  • Juice from 1-2 lemons

Optional Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup parsley
  • 1/2 cup cilantro
  • If I have room in my blender, I like to throw in a handful of organic strawberries

Directions:

  • Add all of your greens and cold water into the blender and mix until a liquid is formed
  • Add vegetables, fruit, and herbs slowly, allowing it to continue to blend
  • Add the lemon juice last, then bump up the speed to let it all blend together
  • Drink 8 – 16 oz a day cold and store in a sealed container in the fridge.

*Original recipe from Kimberly Snyder, and photo taken with Instagram

Leave a Reply

